My Klyball 600D build

ronin47

My Klyball 600D build

Post by ronin47 »

Hi all.

I've been building a 600D replica (Thanks for the keycaps Dave :) ) and thought I'd share progress here, though I am quite a way in on account of starting over on another forum where I'm an admin.

This is where it's up to:

PXL_20240111_211936876.jpg
PXL_20240111_211936876.jpg (3.08 MiB) Viewed 3525 times

All I have left are 16 resistors, which are on order, then I'm going to work through the ICs to see what I'm missing. RAM and ROMs are on order, but I may not have all the logic chips I need.

Overall the build has been relatively easy so far, and it seems the best way is to follow the build guide - who'd have thought :lol: :lol: :lol:

The only sticky moment was the silk screening for the ICs which on my board is 180 degrees out, however the person who supplied the board did warn me, and once again the build guide helped a lot.

Fingers crossed I'll be able to get power to it in the next few weeks.
CommodoreZ

Re: My Klyball 600D build

Post by CommodoreZ »

Nice work, I look forward to seeing how your build progresses!
Superboard Replica (400, 420C, 440) | C4P (502, 540) | Mini OSI-300 | https://www.commodorez.com 🌵
ronin47

Post by ronin47 »

CommodoreZ wrote: Sat Jan 13, 2024 3:46 am Nice work, I look forward to seeing how your build progresses!

Just waiting on parts at the moment. Next up I need to go through any tests to be sure it's ready to go with no shorts/bridges.

Soldering on an unmasked board has been interesting to say the least!
ronin47

Post by ronin47 »

I got round to running the initial tests, and also confirmed there are no shorts on the 5v rail, so feeling confident I added the ICs I have to the board, and also the keycaps, since I only have 5 resistors left to install, and that's all the soldering done:

PXL_20240114_162252309.jpg
PXL_20240114_162252309.jpg (3.4 MiB) Viewed 3197 times