Page 4 of 8
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 5:03 am
by Jeff
BillO wrote:So far using the KLyball 610 board with my original 600 board the memory errors are completely different than with my memory board. They are still there, but very different. What happens with the 610 board is that on every 16th run through the memory test
almost every byte between 12352 and 13311 shows an error such that the value is off by exactly 16. I'll get the errors on the 16th run, the 32nd run, the 48th run, etc... Never do I get an error on any other run, or in other locations. I've replaced the memory in that 1K block and the surrounding blocks. Same thing happens. The code I'm using is below, modified to concentrate on those locations. It would be great is someone else could give it a shot and let me know what they get.
Code: Select all
10 X=0:Y=0
100 PRINT"INITIALIZE MEMORY"
110 FOR I=8192 TO 27647
120 POKE I,X
130 NEXT I
150 PRINT"BEGIN MEMORY TEST"
180 X=X+1
190 IF X>255 THEN X=0
200 FOR I=12351 TO 13312
210 Z=PEEK(I)
220 IF Z=Y THEN GOTO 300
230 PRINT"LOC";I;Z;"S/B";Y
300 POKE I,X
305 NEXT I
310 Y=X
315 PRINT"*";
320 GOTO 180
I ran your code here on my SB2 and Replica 610 and all I get are 3 rows of asterisks repeating. Is that what is supposed to happen? I have all the memory populated on my 610. Let me know if there is anything else you want me to try.

- SBII.jpg (72.35 KiB) Viewed 47091 times
/Jeff
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:20 pm
by Jeff
Here is a corrected diagram (I had 1 trace incorrect) for the Dual Sided Floppy Mod for the 505 board. I also placed all the jumpers and cuts on the component side.

- Mods for Dual Sided Floppy 505 board.jpg (154.59 KiB) Viewed 47089 times
/Jeff
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Mon Jun 15, 2015 4:39 pm
by BillO
Jeff wrote:
I ran your code here on my SB2 and Replica 610 and all I get are 3 rows of asterisks repeating. Is that what is supposed to happen? I have all the memory populated on my 610. Let me know if there is anything else you want me to try.
/Jeff
That's exactly what you are supposed to see if there are no errors. Thanks for doing that Jeff, it helps. I am now 98% sure that the memory problems are with my 600 board. I'll have my key switches in a day or two and will bring my replica 600D to the fray. Hopefully things will move more quickly.
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Tue Jun 16, 2015 5:37 am
by Klyball
@Bill
your memory issues could be the problem writing to the disk do you have the same buffers chips in the 600 and 610 ie 8t28 not 8t26's
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 5:47 am
by Jeff
Probably a stupid question but I'll ask it anyway. Can you run dual drives without each drive being dual sided?
How would you hook up a second 5-ΒΌ inch floppy drive?
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 6:24 am
by Klyball
The 610 and d13 with out modifications are set for dual single sided drives the side select line is connected to ds1 and disk select is ds0 so you get 2 single sided drives
after the mods you should be able to still use single sided drives because there is no side select on those drives
in theory if you added a inverter to the side select and hook it to ds2 and ds3 you could have 4 single sided drives
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Wed Jun 17, 2015 4:57 pm
by BillO
Klyball wrote:@Bill
your memory issues could be the problem writing to the disk do you have the same buffers chips in the 600 and 610 ie 8t28 not 8t26's
It is indeed the case that the memory issues are causing at least part of the problem. I can load values in to certain areas, then go back and read them and they are different.
The buffers are okay though.
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 1:56 am
by Jeff
Can I use both the "A" and "B" connectors on the floppy cable when connecting 2 drives?
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 2:28 am
by Klyball
As long as it does not have the twist
Re: Building the KLyball D-13
Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2015 4:13 am
by Jeff
I thought that the twist told the drive which drive it was. If no twist, then how does each drive know when to respond? Do you set the DS0/DS1 differently?